The National Drop New Single

There’s one thing you can expect when The National drop: you’re about to feel a lot of things at once.  Just two years after they released their Grammy-winning seventh album, Sleep Well Beast, the band is back with the single “You Had Your Soul With You” and announce a full album due out in May.

This first taste of the album starts out with the buzzing, frantic energy that feels like early afternoon traffic, chirping telephones, and an old computer starting up.  This frenzy gives way to The National we know and love, as Matt Berninger sweeps onto the track, accompanied by former Bowie-band member, Gail Ann Dorsey.  For the greatest effect, throw on a pair of headphones, and feel your brain melt from the side-switching sounds on this track.

Along with the release of I am Easy to Find, the band will be releasing a short film by Mike Mills that features Alicia Vikander.  The album, released by 4AD, will have the band touring alongside Alvvays and Courtney Barnett.  The band announced the tracklist, which is an astonishing 16-songs in length:

1. You Had Your Soul With You
2. Quiet Light
3. Roman Holiday
4. Oblivions
5. The Pull Of You
6. Hey Rosey
7. I Am Easy To Find
8. Her Father In The Pool
9. Where Is Her Head
10. Not In Kansas
11. So Far So Fast
12. Dust Swirls In Strange Light
13. Hairpin Turns
14. Rylan
15. Underwater
16. Light Years

Stay tuned in to RSU Radio for more news on The National, as we look forward to this latest release!

← All Posts for Show True Alternative Music