Blur Unveils ‘The Ballad of Darren’

In 2015, Blur, one of the most influential bands of the Britpop era, surprised fans by reuniting after a hiatus of over a decade.

Almost a decade later, they’re doing it all again.

© Parlaphone Records

Blur, comprising Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James, and Dave Rowntree, surprised fans by unexpectedly announcing a new album on May 18th. The album, titled “The Ballad of Darren,” is scheduled for release on July 21 through Parlophone. Recorded in Studio 13 (London and Devon), the record is produced by James Ford, who previously helmed Arctic Monkey’s AM, Haim’s Days are Gone, and Gorillaz‘s recent output.

With an anthemic chorus and vivid lyrical imagery, lead single, “The Narcissist” immediately ranks high in my all-time favorite Blur tracks.

The Ballad of Darren

01. The Ballad
02. St Charles Square
03. Barbaric
04. Russian Strings
05. The Everglades (For Leonard)
06. The Narcissist
07. Goodbye Albert
08. Far Away Island
09. Avalon
10. The Heights

Two bonus tracks, The Swan and The Rabbi, are available in the album’s deluxe edition.

© Parlaphone Records, Warner Music UK Limited

The Ballad of Darren will be accessible in various formats, including Digital Download, Standard and Deluxe CD, Standard and Deluxe Vinyl (accompanied by a bonus 7″ vinyl), CD with an integrated booklet featuring exclusive handwritten notes, sketches, and lyrics, as well as Cassette.

Pre-order now:

Hug your closest Oasis fan. They’re struggling today.

← All Posts for Show Britwaves